Cogan House Covered Bridge
The Cogan House Covered Bridge is a Burr arch truss covered bridge over Larrys Creek in Cogan House Township, Lycoming County, in the U.S.… Číst dál…
Přidej Cogan House Covered Bridge Do Svého Výletu
Vytvoř podrobný itinerář výletu s chytrým plánováním tras, odhady času a vším, co potřebuješ pro dokonalý výlet.
The Cogan House Covered Bridge is a Burr arch truss covered bridge over Larrys Creek in Cogan House Township, Lycoming County, in the U.S. state of Pennsylvania. It was built in 1877 and is 94 feet 2 inches long. The bridge was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980, and had a major restoration in 1998. The Cogan House bridge is named for the township and village of Cogan House, and is also known by at least four other names: Buckhorn, Larrys Creek, Day's, and Plankenhorn.
The Cogan House Covered Bridge was constructed by a millwright who assembled the timber framework in a field next to the sawmill, before it was reassembled at the bridge site. It was the only bridge on Larrys Creek that survived the flood of June 1889, and one of only a handful that were left intact in the county. Although the bridge used to carry a steady flow of tannery and sawmill traffic, the clearcutting of the surrounding forests meant the end of those industries by the early 20th century.
Source: Wikipedia
Další informace a kontakt
Přidej Cogan House Covered Bridge Do Svého Výletu
Vytvoř podrobný itinerář výletu s chytrým plánováním tras, odhady času a vším, co potřebuješ pro dokonalý výlet.