The Oaks House Museum
The Oaks House Museum, also known as The Oaks, located at 823 North Jefferson Street in Jackson, Mississippi, is the former home of Jackson… Weiterlesen…
Füge The Oaks House Museum Zu Deiner Reise Hinzu
Erstelle eine detaillierte Reiseroute mit intelligenter Routenführung, Zeitabschätzungen und allem, was du für eine perfekte Reise brauchst.
The Oaks House Museum, also known as The Oaks, located at 823 North Jefferson Street in Jackson, Mississippi, is the former home of Jackson Mayor James H. Boyd and his wife Eliza Ellis Boyd and their family. Having survived the burning of Jackson during the Civil War, The Oaks is one of the oldest structures in the city. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a Mississippi Landmark.
The structure was built in the Greek Revival style in approximately 1853. The original property was larger than the current one, at one time encompassing 4 acres and extending north to Boyd Street and west to North Street, an urban farmstead with main house, barn, detached kitchen, smokehouse, greenhouse, and other outbuildings. Three generations of the Boyd family lived at The Oaks, from 1853 until 1960.
Source: Wikipedia
Weitere Informationen und Kontakt
Füge The Oaks House Museum Zu Deiner Reise Hinzu
Erstelle eine detaillierte Reiseroute mit intelligenter Routenführung, Zeitabschätzungen und allem, was du für eine perfekte Reise brauchst.